Board Members

Sheppard Pratt Health System has been guided for more than 161 years by a volunteer Board of Trustees. This board governs the Health System’s activities to help ensure that we are providing quality, compassionate mental health treatment.

To this day, the board still upholds the original guidelines set in place for The Sheppard Asylum by founder Moses Sheppard in 1853. To ensure the humane treatment of the mentally ill these guidelines include:

  • Courteous treatment and comfort of all patients
  • No patient to be confined below ground; all to have privacy, sunlight, and fresh air
  • A curative environment, combining science, and experience for the best possible results
  • Only the income of the endowment, not principal, is to be spent to build and operate the Health System

The Sheppard and Enoch Pratt Foundation, Inc. is the parent corporation for The Sheppard Pratt Health System and its affiliates, as well as for The Sheppard Pratt Physicians, P.A., and is the entity that conducts fundraising. The Board of Trustees governing our Health System includes:


The Honorable J. Frederick Motz (Chair)
Margaret Allen
S. Winfield Cain
Penelope Cordish
Susan Fenimore
Alan Gamse
Philip H. Grantham
Dr. Robert Hamilton
Kenneth Jones
Norma Peden Killebrew
Charles E. Knudsen
Robert Kresslein
Brian Le Gette
William Morton
Robert Schaftel
Gail L. Shawe
Alfred Singer
John W. Steele, III
Gary Talles
Susan Gay Williams

Associate Trustees

Timothy R. Hearn, CCIM
Kenneth Jones
Holly Lanigan
Richard A. Lamond
Wayne Lingafelter
Wyatt Lee



We provide a full range of treatment options in 38 locations throughout Maryland. 

Click to find a location.